John Thompson

United States

John Thompson

Joined on 11/09/2016. Born 20/01/1987
I am happy to help wherever I can!. I am a 28 year old male traveling across South America for pleasure with three of my greatest friends. Before traveling I was a teacher for children with Autism and disabilities, as well as an elementary teacher, and a program director for an after school program to benefit disadvantaged kids. I love to help people and am very interested in pursuing some volunteering with animals as well as any eco-related opportunities. In my spare time I love to hike, bike, and explore any new place I can. I also play basketball and many other sports in my spare time. I also like to read, write, and listen to music just like most others. I am always open to new experience and I try to learn as much as I can everyday.

Want to Visit

South America, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Peru

Interested in

General
Administration
Agriculture Work
Animal Care
Archaeological Work
Childcare
Conservation Work
Construction
Disaster Relief
Teaching
Fundraising
Sports

Skills

Teaching of any type- I love to learn with others as well as instruct. I am a team player and appreciate being a piece of a group. Manual labor of any type- I've worked construction, landscaping, auto body, remodel, and many other forms of work. I love to work hard and prefer to work outside when I get a chance. I don't mind a long day in the sun and I always try to make the most of these experiences. I am absolutely interested in disaster relief and conservation work as well. I have worked for a couple different animal shelters and with farm animals and many other animals in the years growing up, I would love an opportunity to work with animals and it would most likely be my top choice, if the opportunity presents itself. I am flexible and curious, any opportunity that arises, I am confident that I can learn how to do it the right way and learn from it. I am a great listener and appreciate any feedback that can improve my abilities for myself and for others. I am a team player and a leader.

Past Volunteering Experience

i've worked with habitat for humanity in the U.S. Doing construction and operating a "restore" that offers many services to those in need. I have volunteered at two different animal shelters doing many things with dogs, cats, and other animals (I love animals). I have most recently volunteered at a therapeutic horse ranch for kids with emotional disabilities and also at the Weld county food bank once a week for the year prior to traveling, doing a wide variety of things at the bank including packaging food, preparing meals for the less fortunate, and creating meal plans and care packages for those in need.